Marion County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Marion County

Guide to Marion County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Marion County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Marion County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 14, 1837
County Seat Buena Vista
Courthouse
Address Marion County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Buena Vista, GA 31803-0000
Phone: 912.649.2603
Marion County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Marion County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Buena Vista, GA 31803-0000
Phone: 912.649.2603

Courthouse fire in 1845; all records lost; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning Dates for Marion County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Francis Marion.JPG

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[2]

Parent County

1827--Marion County was created 14 December 1837 from Lee and Muscogee Counties.
County seat:  Buena Vista [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1845. The courthouse at Tazewell burned 4 November 1845, and almost all county records were destroyed.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Marion County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Powell, Nettie. History of Marion County, Georgia. Columbus, Ga.: Historical Pub. Co., 1931. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gamarion.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marion County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County, Georgia:

- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I 
- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 28th Battalion, Georgia Siege Artillery (Confederate), Company A
- 46th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marion County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1844-1885 - Marion County Marriage Books A and B Index 1844-1885. Batch M713281 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1885-1895 - Marion County Marriage Books C and D Index 1885-1895. Batch M713282 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1885-1886 - Marion County Marriages 1885-1886 (from newspapers) Georgia Pioneers
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 41. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. 5.0 5.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:25.
  • This page has been accessed 5,469 times.