Marion County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Marion County, Iowa)

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Marion County

Guide to Marion County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Marion County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Marion County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 4, 1845
County Seat Knoxville
Courthouse

Contents

County Information

Marion County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1845 1880 1840 1846 1845

County Courthouse

History

Francis Marion.JPG

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[2]

Parent County

1845--Marion County was created 4 August 1845 from unorganized territory. County seat: Knoxville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Jasper • Lucas • Mahaska • Monroe • Polk • Warren

Marion CountyMahaska CountyMonroe CountyLucas CountyWarren CountyPolk CountyJasper CountyPoweshiek CountyKeokuk CountyWapello CountyDavis CountyAppanoose CountyWayne CountyDecatur CountyClarke CountyMadison CountyDallas CountyBoone CountyStory CountyMarshall CountyTama CountyIAMarion.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran
  • Records of the Resurrection Lutheran Church, Marion County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Marion County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marion County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County, Iowa Genealogy:


- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies G and K
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies G and H
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
:- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Marion - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Marion County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 385
Knoxville IA 50138-0385
Website

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Marion County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "marion county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "marion county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "marion county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Marion County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Marion County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Marion County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Marion County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Marion County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 October 2015, at 03:48.
  • This page has been accessed 8,481 times.