Marion County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Marion County

Guide to Marion County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Marion County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Marion County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 3, 1849
County Seat Salem
Courthouse
Address Marion County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
555 Court Stree NE
Salem, Or 97309
Phone: 503-588-5225
Marion County Website


Contents

Quick Facts

Francis Marion.JPG

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).


County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1849 and land records from 1850. District Court has divorce, probate and court records. State Archives has wills 1853-1891, Naturalization Records 1849-1975 and assessment rolls 1857-1925.[1]

In August of 2010, the building at 555 Court Street NE, known as Courthouse Square was evacuated and declared unsafe for use. All of the county offices in this building were relocated to other places in the county. You can follow updates on the Marion County page at http://www.co.marion.or.us/BOC/csi.htm.
In the meantime, the county clerk can be contacted for specific information on the files you are requesting:

Clerk's Office
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 14500, Salem, Oregon 97309
E-mail: ClerksOffice@co.marion.or.us
Web Site:
Phone: (503) 588-5225

Archives/ Records Management
100 High ST NE # 1331, Salem, Oregon 97301
Email: ClerksOffice@co.marion.or.us
Phone: (503) 588-5490

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Marion County, Oregon

Records held at County Courthouse

  • Record Loss:

Quick Facts

3 September 1849: Marion county was renamed from Champoeg County.
Named for Francis Marion, a Continental Army general in the American Revolutionary War. [2]

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Parent County

None, one of original counties.

Boundary Changes

Originally one of the four districts named in July of 1843, Champooick District (later called Champoeg) ranged from the Willamette river on the west to the Continental Divide on the east and south to California.[3]

In 1845 the districts were renamed counties, and in 1849, the name of Champoeg District was changed to Marion County to honor Revolutionary War hero General Francis Marion.[4] Marion County was already smaller than when it started, because 28 Dec 1847 the Provisional Legislature created Linn County out of the southern portion of Champoeg,[5] establishing the boundary at the North Fork of the Santiam River. Then, on 11 Jan 1854, the Territorial Legislature created Wasco County from the eastern parts of Marion, Linn, Clackamas and Lane Counties.[6] This set the eastern border of Marion County at the Cascade Range, where it remains today.

Originally the county had a county court form of government, but as the state judiciary branch of state government grew, there was less need of a county court. In 1941 the county court system was stripped of judicial function and the remaining probate and civil cases were transferred to the Circuit Court. In 1963 the county changed to a county commissioner form of government.[7]

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Aumsville | Aurora | Detroit | Donald | Gates | Gervais | Hubbard | Idanha | Jefferson | Keizer | Mill City | Mt. Angel | St. Paul | Salem | Scotts Mills | Silverton | Stayton | Sublimity | Turner | Woodburn

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Brooks | Butteville | Breitenbush | Champoeg | Clear Lake | Four Corners | Hayesville | Labish Village | Marion | Mehama | Monitor | Pratum | Saint Benedict | Saint Louis | West Stayton

Neighboring Counties

Clackamas | Jefferson | Linn | Polk | Wasco | Yamhill |

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries (Rural)

Census

  • 1845 (as Champoeg County)
  • 1849 (as Champoeg County)
  • 1850
  • 1853 State Census Transcriptions and Indexes
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1895 State
  • 1900
  • 1905 State
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records (Rural)

  • Early Catholic records.The earliest Catholic church registers have been transcribed and published in a series of seven books.

Court Records

Deeds and Property

Gazetteers

History

Maps

Ormarion.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • St. Paul Mission Historical Society. St. Paul is the core of the French Prairie, the earliest settlement in Oregon. The Society website includes history, photos, and artifacts.

Family History Centers

Websites

Marion County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marion County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  3. Oregon State Archives, “Marion County History,” Oregon Historical Records Guide, (Oregon State Archives : http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/county/cpmarionhome.html : accessed 17 Oct 2010).
  4. Sue Bell, “Early Marion County Government,” Salem Online History, (Salem, Salem Public Library, 2003 : http://www.salemhistory.net/places/marion_county_government.htm : accessed 17 Oct 2010).
  5. Oregon State Archives, “Linn County History,” Oregon Historical Records Guide, (Oregon State Archives : http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/county/cpmarionhome.html : accessed 17 Oct 2010).
  6. Oregon State Archives, “Wasco County History,” Oregon Historical Records Guide, (Oregon State Archives : http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/county/cpmarionhome.html : accessed 17 Oct 2010).
  7. Oregon State Archives, “Marion County History.”

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 19:35.
  • This page has been accessed 11,190 times.