Marion County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  West Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Marion County

Guide to Marion County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Marion County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Marion County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 14, 1842
County Seat Fairmont
Courthouse
Marion County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Marion County Courthouse
217 Adams Street
Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone: 304-367-5440
Marion County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

  • County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records from 1872
  • Clerk Circuit Court probate and land[1]

History

Francis Marion.JPG

The county is named after "The Swamp Fox" Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Marion (c1732-1795).[2]

Parent County

1842--Marion County was created 14 January 1842 from Monongalia and Harrison Counties.  County seat: Fairmont [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvmarion.jpg

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Marion County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Join us in indexing the 1940 Census

Church Records

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Fairmont

Court

Genealogy

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marion County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marion County, West Virginia:

- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D.[4]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies A and B.[5].
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Marion Guards).[6]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

Newspapers

Probate

Marion County West Virginia Will Books 1842 - 1970
West Virginia Will Books

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Marriage

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Marion County Genealogical Club, Inc.
Marion County Library, Monroe Street
Fairmont, West Virginia, 26554


Family History Centers

Web Sites

Marion County, West Virginia Various Records on Microfilm at the Library of Virginia
 Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Preston County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Francis Marion," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  5. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  6. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 9,098 times.