Mark, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Mark, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mark, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bempstone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Axbridge PLU
Registration District Axbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Axbridge
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARK, a village and a parish in Axbridge district, Somerset. The village stands near the source of the river Brue, 2½ miles ENE of Bason-Bridge railway station, and 6½ SW by S of Axbridge. The parish contains also the hamlets of Northwick, Southwick, Perry, Yarrow, Vole, Pilbrow, KingsRoad, Harp-Road, Dutch-Road, Yard-Wall, and RiverBridge; and is cut into two sections, E and W.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mark, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
MARK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1646-1837
1643-1837
1568-1837
JOIN
1643-1837

MARR
1606-1753

NBI

1709-1891

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Mark/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 23 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,328 times.