Mark Beech, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes


Mark Beech, Kent
Markbeech Holy Trinity Kent.jpg
Markbeech Holy Trinity Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Somerden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Shorne
Bishop's Transcripts: 1853
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Markbeech Holy Trinity was built in 1851 and was created as an Ecclesiastical parish within part of Hever, Kent Ancient parish.

The church was built by the local Talbot family and was within the Anglo-Catholic tradition of the Church of England.

One of the three parishes within the united benefice of Hever, Four Elms and Markbeech.A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you See Kent Churches website

See Mark Beech North West Kent Family History Society and Mark Beech Holy Trinity

MARK-BEECH, a chapelry in Cowden and Hever parishes, Kent; 2½ miles NE of the meeting-point with Surrey and Sussex. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mark Beech, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Mark Beech, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1853-1911
1853-1962
1853-2006

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Mark Beech
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306874.



[1]

Poor Law Unions

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,309 times.