Market Drayton, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Market Drayton, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton St Mary Shropshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Bradford
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Market Drayton PLU
Registration District Market Drayton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Market Drayton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DRAYTON-IN-HALES, or Market-Drayton (St.Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the Drayton division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of the county of Shropshire, but partly in the N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford; comprising the townships of Betton, Drayton Magna and Parva, Longslow,Sutton, and Woodeaves, in Shropshire; and Almington, and Bloore-in-Tyrley with Hales, in Stafford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Drayton in Hales St Mary Ancient parish includes Tyrley township in Staffordshire 

Market Drayton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MARKET DRAYTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1681-1742
1742

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FREG 1813-1815


IGI 1742-1779, 1792-1872 1681-1837, 1855-1858

Staffordshire Record Office has no holdings for the parish.

Hales Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1857-1865, 1867 Marr none Bur 1857-1862  Earlier years may be found in Market Drayton Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1681-1872 Marr 1681-1858 Bur  1681-1876

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474579.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/MarketDrayton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-91. Date accessed: 30 June 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 22 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014. Described as 'Drayton in Hales.'
  6. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,764 times.