Marple, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Marple, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marple, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport PLU
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1655
Bishop's Transcripts: 1715
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARPLE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Stockport, hundred of Macclesfield, and the North division of the county of Chester, it is 4¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Stockport. This chapelry, anciently called Merpull, is situated on the river Goyt, which separates the counties of Chester and Derby. The Whaley branch of the Manchester and Sheffield railway, pass through the township.

The chapel, dedicated to All Saints, was rebuilt in 1812. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Known as Merpille by the early 13th century, probably from the words maere and pyll meaning "a pool or stream near the boundary"

Historically part of Cheshire,Marple is a large village within the Metropolitan Borough of Stockport, in Greater Manchester, England. It lies on the River Goyt southeast of Stockport.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241244.

Church records

Marple All Saints chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Register
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Marple All Saints Chapelry (1655) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1656-1750


FS PR's 1655-1909
  NONE
1653-1920
  NONE
1694-1950
  NONE
FS BT'S 1715-1892
  NONE
1715-1754
  NONE
1715-1892
  NONE
FMP (£)   


1655-1947
1655-1947
JOIN

1646-1754


NBI



1655-1947
TGEN
1656-1754

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Stockport St Mary was the Ancient parish for Marple.

Marple All Saints was a chapelry of Stockport and then became an ecclesiastical parish.

High Lane St Thomas

Low Marple St Martin

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for Marple, Cheshire, 1655-1925

Parish Registers:Marple Film
Early registers (baptisms, marriages to 1754, burials), 1655-1773. Baptisms and burials, 1773-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1910. Marriages, 1838-1880.
2106558 Items 3 - 10
Marriages, 1880-1920. Burials, 1813-1899. Grave inscriptions, section b, plots 1-271, ca. 1814-1967.
2106604
Graves inscriptions, section b, plot 272-625, ca. 1846-1964. Graves inscriptions, section a, ca. 1657-1961 (in alphabetical order).
2106605 Items 1 - 2

Parish of All Saints, Marple, burials, 19 Jun. 1655 - 6 Mar. 1947 Microfiche of original published: [S.l.] : North Cheshire Family History Society, 1999.

Parish Registers: All Saints, Marple Film
Burials, 1655-1947
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6200563

Marriages at Marple, 1656-1754 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P99/1/1-5, P99/2/1-2, P99/3/1-2, P99/4/1-4, P99/6/61-62.

Parish Registers: Marple Film
942.71 K29c
British Reference Available
Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1950. 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
88606

Bishop's transcripts for Marple, 1715-1843 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 143

Bishops Transcripts: Marple Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1715, 1718, 1720, 1722, 1718-1719, 1721, 1724-1725, 1727, 1726, 1729-1755, baptisms, burials, 1795, 1756-1803, 1805-1813, baptisms, 1814-1815, 1822-1839, burials, 1841-1842, baptisms, 1841-1843, burials, 1842-1843, 1840-1841, baptisms, 1840-1841, burials, 1839, Baptisms, 1839-1840, burials, 1824, 1815-1838.
1647520 Item 5
Non-Conformist Churches

Marple Bridge, St. Mary (Roman Catholic), Hollins Lane. Founded 1859, rebuilt in 1945.
Marple, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1803, rebuilt in 1876. Registers 1804–1840 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Marple, Methodist Church (Primitive), Market Street. Founded 1832, rebuilt in 1876. Registers of baptisms 1832–1862 are at Manchester Central Library.
Marple, Methodist Church (Primitive). Built in 1892, rebuilt in 1869.
Marple Bridge, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Founded 1662 at Mill Brow.

Church records, 1761-1837 Births, baptisms and burials, 1761-1837.
Marple Bridge United Reformed Church was formerly Mill Brow Independent, Congregational, then United Reformed.
RG-4 series nos. 943 and 505.

Other Content FHL Film
Births, baptisms and burials 1761-1837. BRITISH 590683 Items 6-7
Baptisms 1839-1895. Marriages 1839-1895. Burial register 1846-1878. Graveyard register 1791-1965. List of members 1838, 1846-1868, 1872-1896. BRITISH 1655629 Items 1-9

Microfilms of registers 1761–1840 are at the Cheshire Record Office and Derbyshire Record Office, with some later records other than registers at Derbyshire Record Office.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Stockport (1837–1937)
  • North East Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Stockport (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Marple on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 29 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,684 times.