Marquette County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Marquette County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Marquette County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Marquette County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Montello
Courthouse
Address Marquette County Courthouse
77 W Park Street
Montello, WI 53949
Phone: 608.297.9136
WI Marquette.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Marquette County Courthouse
77 W Park Street
Montello, WI 53949
Phone: 608.297.9136

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1876,
marriage and death from 1869 and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records
from 1878 and naturalization records 1868-1936;
Registrar in Probbate has probate records from 1890[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Marquette County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown County. County seat: Montello [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Selected Biographical Sketches from the 1890 Green Lake, Marquette and Waushara County History

Cemeteries

Cemeteries and Related Information Marquette County, Wisconsin

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Histories and Records of Churches in Marquette County WI

Marquette County Wisconsin Ev. Lutheran Church Records

Current Marquette County Area Churches and Funeral Homes Marquette County, Wisconsin

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

contributed family trees -

History

Land and Property

searches.rootsweb.ancestry.com/cgi-bin/wisconsin/wisconsin.pl

Local Histories

History of Marquette County

Marquette County, Wisconsin Place Names

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Marquette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Marguette County.

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company C
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E.



Company D, 4th Wisconsin Cavalry Organized in Kilbourn City in the Spring of 1861

Marquette County Pensioners on the Roll in 1883

Korean War

1883 Marquette County Area G.A.R. Post Founders

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Newspaper articles posted from various pre-1925 newspapers

Obituaries

LIst of Obituary Lookup Volunteers

Photographs

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Marquette County Libraries

County Courthouse

co.marquette.wi.us/

Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Adoption/Adoptee
Birth
Marriage

Pre-1907 Marriages Index

Divorce
Death

1860 Mortality Schedule

Pre-1920 Marquette County Wisconsin Deaths

Wisconsin Obituaries - searchable by surname

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Marquette County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,623 times.