Marshall County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Marshall County

Guide to Marshall County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Marshall County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1835
County Seat Plymouth
Courthouse
Address Marshall County Courthouse
211 W Madison Street
Plymouth, IN 46563-1762
Phone: 219.936.8922
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
--*
1836*
--*
1834
1834
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 7 February 1835 from unorganized territory (Cass/Elkhart/St. Joseph). [1]
  • County Seat: Plymouth[2]


Neighboring Counties

St. Joseph  • Kosciusko  • Elkhart  • Fulton  • Pulaski  • Starke Inmarshall.jpg

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business records and Commerce

Cemeteries

  • Cemeteries for Marshall County Linkpendium
  • Cemetery - Marshall County Cemeteries with locations and driving directions - sorted Alphabetically INGenWeb
  • Cemetery - Marshall County Cemeteries with locations and driving directions - sorted by TownshipINGenWeb

Census Records

For tips on accessing Marshall County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marshall County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local Histories
  • Ellsworth, Spencer. Records of the Olden Time, or, Fifty Years on the Prairies Embracing ... the Organization of the Counties of Putnam and Marshall, Incidents and Reminiscences Connected Therewith, Biographies of Citizens, Portraits and Illustrations. (La Crosse, Wis: Brookhaven Press (a division of NMT Corp.), 2003.)other librariesINTERNETARCHIVE
  • Brant Fuller. History of Indiana Containing a History of Indiana and Biographical Sketches of Governors and Other Leading Men. Also a Statement of the Growth and Prosperity of Marshall County, Together with a Personal and Family History of Many of Its Citizens. (Madison, Wisc: Brant, Fuller, 1890.)other libraries;Vol.1 INTERNET ARCHIVE vol. 2INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marshall County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marshall County.

Newspapers

Obituaries

Obituaries from The Bremen Enquirer 1884 to 2007 Courtesy of the Bremen Public Library www.bremen.lib.in.us/historical/bpl_obituaries.asp

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marshall County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Marshall County Courthouse
211 W Madison Street
Plymouth, IN 46563-1762
Phone: 219.936.8922

County Health Department has birth,
death and burial records from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce,
probate and court records from 1836.
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Marshall County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

School Records

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marshall County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records


Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marshall County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall _County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marshall County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 April 2014, at 02:40.
  • This page has been accessed 7,355 times.