Marshall County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Marshall County, Iowa)
United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Marshall County
Contour strip cropping in northeast Iowa

Guide to Marshall County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Marshall County, Iowa
Map of Iowa highlighting Marshall County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Founded January 13, 1846
County Seat Marshalltown
Address Marshall County Courthouse
1 E Main St
Marshalltown, IA 50158
Marshall County Website


County Information

Marshall County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1850 1880 1840 1850 1851

County Courthouse 

Picture of the courthouse at:


Parent County

1846--Marshall County was created 13 January 1846 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Jasper and Linn Counties prior to organization 1 October 1849.  County seat:  Marshalltown [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Grundy • Hardin • Jasper • Poweshiek • Story • Tama

Marshall CountyTama CountyPoweshiek CountyJasper CountyPolk CountyStory CountyHardin CountyGrundy CountyBlack Hawk CountyBenton CountyIowa CountyKeokuk CountyMahaska CountyMarion CountyWarren CountyBoone CountyHamilton CountyWright CountyFranklin CountyButler CountyIAMarshall.JPG




Riverside Cemetery
611 North Center Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158-1618
(641) 753-7891

Rose Hill Memorial Gardens
602 Iowa Avenue Ease
(Iowa Avenue is old Highway 30)
Marshalltown, IA 50158-4779
(641) 752-0360


Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Marshalltown, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

  • The History of Marshall County, Iowa : containing a history of the county, its cities, town, &c., a biographical directory of citizens, war records of its volunteers.. Chicago, Illinois : Western Historical Co., 1878. Online at; FamilySearch Books Online, Internet Archive, HathiTrust.



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 4th Independent Battery, Iowa Light Artillery,
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
:- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
:- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
:- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D


Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

  • Marshall County Time. 1858. Marshall, IA, USA. Online at: ($)


Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Marshall - Probate records.


Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.


Societies and Libraries

Central Iowa Genealogical Society
serving Marshall County, Iowa
PO Box 945
Marshalltown, Iowa 50158

Historical Society of Marshall County
202 E. Church Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "marshall county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "marshall county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "marshall county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Marshall County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search Marshall County, IA Genealogy Forum Marshall County Message Board


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 October 2015, at 03:49.
  • This page has been accessed 10,445 times.