Marsham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Marsham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marsham, Norfolk
Marsham All Saints.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARSHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (S.) from Aylsham. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists. Cite error: Closing </ref> missing for <ref> tag |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | FREG = FreeREG - free[1] |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[2] |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[3] |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[4] |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5] |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6] |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7] |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8] |}

Marsham, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1837

FREG 1538-1901
1538-1901
1538-1900
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1652, 1684-1901 Undefined 1538-1652, 1684-1901 Undefined 1538-1652, 1684-1901
IGI 1538-1652, 1665-1836 1538-1837
JOIN
1538-1837

PALL
1790-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 231

Parish registers for Marsham Microfilm copy of originals at the Norfolk Record Office in Norwich, England.

Early parish registers usually have baptisms, marriages, and burials intermixed until 1813 when baptisms and burials were recorded on printed form registers. Marriages and marriage banns were recorded on printed form registers as early as 1754.

Baptisms, 1538-1652; marriages, 1538-1651; burials, 1539-1652 (includes memorium). Baptisms, 1684-1736; marriages, 1684-1730, 1736-1739, 1748-1754; burials, 1684-1730. Baptisms, burials, 1738-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 2262383 Items 15 - 17
Baptisms, 1813-1901. Marriages, 1754-1812; banns, 1754-1822. Marriages, 1813-1901. Burials, 1813-1901. Banns, 1823-1902. FHL BRITISH Film 2262384 Items 1 - 12
Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms and burials 1600-1611, 1624-1634?, 1665-1812 Marriages 1602-1610, 1624-1634?, 1665-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526780 Item 10

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  2. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,664 times.