Marthall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Marthall

Guide to Marthall, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marthall All Saints Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

MARTHALL, is a chapelry and township in Rostherne parish, and partly also in Knutsford parish, Cheshire. The township lies 1 mile WNW of Chelford railway station, and 3½ miles SE by E of Knntsford. The chapelry was constituted in 1840, and is called Marthall-cum-Little Warford. The post townis, Knutsford.[1]

Marthall All Saints is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1840 from  Rostherne, Cheshire Ancient Parish and  Knutsford, Cheshire Ecclesiastical Parish.Other places in the parish include: Little Warford.

Marthall cum Warford was a township in Over Peover chapelry of Rostherne Parish, Bucklow  which became a civil parish in 1866.

In 1976, Marthall civil parish was formed in its present state by including the neighbouring village, Ollerton.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

Marthall All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Marthall All Saints Parish (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1839-1892
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1880-1892
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Marthall 1839-1947 Microfilm of original records at the County Record Office, Worcester

Parish registers Marthall Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1839-1947.
886623 Item 2

Bishop's transcripts Marthall 1839-1892 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 144

Bishop's transcripts Marthall
Film
Baptisms, 1839-1845, 1848, baptisms, burials, 1849-1858, burials, 1859, baptisms, burials, 1860, baptisms, 1859, baptisms, burials, 1861, baptisms, 1862-1863, burials, 1862-1863, baptisms, 1864-1868, burials, 1865-1868, 1870, baptisms, burials, 1879, burials, 1869, 1871-1876, baptisms, 1877-1878, burials, 1877-1878, baptisms, 1879.
1647520 Item 6
Baptisms, burials, 1880-1881, 1885, 1887, 1889-1892.
1647521 Item 1


Marthall- All Saints
Baptisms Transcript-1839-1947- MFPR 340
Burials Transcript-1843-1947- MFPR 340
Marriages Transcript-1866-1946- MFPR 340

For original registers of above please enquire at Cheshire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Non Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Altrincham (1837-98)
  • Bucklow (1898-1951)

Poor Law Unions

Altrincham (renamed Bucklow) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 29 March 2013

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

For information about the parish

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 842 times.