Martham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Martham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Martham, Norfolk
Martham St Mary.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARTHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 9 miles (N. W.) from Yarmouth. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Martham St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The church was built in the 15th century but most significantly it was extended by an 1870 chancel addition. The work of architect Philip Boyce makes this one of the largest and most impressive in this part of the diocese. 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration district:

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
  • Acle 1938-1974
  • Norwich Outer
  • Norwich

Church records

Martham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[8]
Martham, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1838

FREG 1558-1812
1558-1812
1558-1812
FS ATs 1716-1800 1716-1800 1716-1800
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1559-1780 1560-1834
JOIN
1587-1692

NTA 1558-1692, 1840-1853 (gaps)
1587-1692
1558-1691, 1840-1853 (gaps)

Records are deposited at  Norfolk Record Office reference PD 710

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1716, 1770-1800
FHL BRITISH Film
1526831 Item 14

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Martham.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?life/entry.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848),pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 23 April 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  8. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,178 times.