Martin, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire/Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Martin, Wiltshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Martin, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Damerham
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Fordingbridge PLU
Registration District Fordingbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1589; For more records see Damerham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chalke
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARTIN (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Fordingbridge, S. division of the hundred of Damerham, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 4½ miles (N. N. E.) from Cranborne; containing, with the tything of Tidpit, and the extra-parochial place of Allenford. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Martin, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
MARTIN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
NIM
1622-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464195.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)pp. 266-269 Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 14:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,088 times.