Martin County, FloridaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Florida
Martin County
Guide to Martin County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Martin County, Florida | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Florida | |||||||||
![]() Location of Florida in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | May 30, 1925 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Stuart | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Martin County Courthouse
2401 SE Monterey Rd
Stuart, FL 34995
Phone: 561.288.5576
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1925.
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. [1]
History
Parent County
1925--Martin County was created 30 May 1925 from Palm Beach and St. Lucie Counties.
County seat: Stuart [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- Florida African American Griots Project - USGenWeb
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- Florida Tombstone Transcription Project - USGenWeb
- Interment.net - Florida cemetery records by County
- Veterans Administration National Cemeteries - Florida National Cemeteries
- Martin County Genealogical Society's Cemeteries with Burials.
Census
For tips on accessing Martin County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1885 Florida State Population Census - Includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church
Court
Martin Co. GenWeb's (FL-Inc.) Governmental webpage.
Land
Florida Territorial Land Records
Local Histories
Martin Co. GenWeb's (FL-Inc.) Historical Information webpage.
Maps
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps, University of South Florida
Military
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Newspapers
Obituaries
- Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
- Martin County Genealogical Society's Obituaries Indexes from 1913.
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
- Florida State Historical Societies - Listing by County
- Florida Family History Centers
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
- Martin County Genealogical Society is at http://mcgensociety.org
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Martin County FLGenWeb
- State of Florida
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Martin County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Martin County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Martin County, Florida Page 135 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Florida-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 March 2013, at 22:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,246 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

