Martin County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Martin County

Guide to Martin County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Martin County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 17, 1820
County Seat Shoals
Courthouse
Address Martin County Courthouse
Capitol Street
PO Box 120
Shoals, IN 47581-0170
Phone: 812.247.3651
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1820*
1882*
1820
1821
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Parent County

  • Parent Counties: Martin County was created 17 January 1820 from Daviess and Dubois Counties.
  • County Seat: Shoals [1]


Neighboring Counties

Greene  • Lawrence  • Orange  • Dubois  • Daviess


Martin CountyGreene CountyMonroe CountyKnox CountyGibson CountyPike CountyDubois CountyLawrence CountySullivan CountyCrawford CountyOrange CountyDaviess CountyINMartin.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Martin County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

Catholic

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Martin County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local Histories

  • Living Leaders, an Encyclopedia of Biography: Special Edition for Daviess and Martin Counties, Indiana. ([New York?]: American Pub. Co, 1897.)other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Portrait and Biographical Record of Montgomery, Parke and Fountain Counties, Indiana Containing Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens, Together with Biographies and Portraits of All the Presidents of the United States. (Chicago: Chapman Bros, 1893.)other libraries   INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Martin County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Martin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Martin County.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Martin County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives

County Courthouse

Martin County Courthouse
Capitol Street
PO Box 120
Shoals, IN 47581-0170
Phone: 812.247.3651

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1820,
divorce and court records from 1842.
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Martin County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Martin County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Martin County Genealogical Society (Ind.). Martin County, Indiana Will Book "C.". Shoals, Ind.?:(Martin County Genealogical Society?, 2000.)other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Martin County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Martin County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  2. 2.0 2.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Martin County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 8,188 times.