Martins Brandon Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Martin's Brandon Parish

Contents

History

Martin's Brandon Parish has served Charles City and Prince George counties. Merchant's Hope Church was part of Martin's Brandon Parish from 1720 until it became a part of St. John's Parish in Hopewell.

Founded

Boundary

"An Act to divide those parts of the Parishes of Westover and Weynoake, which lie on the South side James River, from those parts of the said Parishes which lie on the North side the said River; and for uniting Westover and Weynoake Parishes; on the South side James River, to Martin Brandon Parish, in the County of Prince George; and for erecting a Chapel in Bristol Parish, in the said County" (1720) culled from sources in London, is published in:

  • Chamberlayne, Churchill G. "Seven Parish Acts Heretofore Unpublished," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan. 1938):106-118. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Resources

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Martin's Brandon Parish is available online.[2]

N.P. Dunn's history of Merchant's Hope Church, Martin's Brandon Parish, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[3]

  • Robbins, Gus. Merchants Hope Church: Erected in 1657, Oldest Protestant Church Still Standing in America and Used As a House of Worship: Prince George County, Virginia. 1970s. FHL Book 975.5 A1 no. 159.

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost, with the exception of one year of records (1660):

  • "Early Records of Charles City County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1896):167-169. Digital version at JSTOR - free.

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  3. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 183-188.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,783 times.