Marton St. James,(near Congleton) CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Marton St. James

Guide to Marton St James, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents


Parish History

MARTON, a village and a township-chapelry in Prestbury parish, Cheshire. The village stands 3½ miles W by N of North Rode Junction raulway station, and 3½ miles N by W of Congleton; and has a post office under Congleton. The church was built about 1343.[1]

Marton St James and St Paul was formerly a chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Prestbury and became a parish in 1728. Marton was one of the 35 townships in the Pre- Norman Ancient Parish of Prestbury. The church was founded and endowed in 1343. Restorations were carried out in 1850 and in 1871.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Martin St. James and St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Martin St. James and St Paul Parish (1563) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


BOYD
1563-1775

FS PR's 1594-1909
  NONE
1623-1769
  NONE
1620-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1622-1909
  NONE
1623-1750
  NONE
1622-1913
  NONE
FMP (£)


1838-2001
1838-2001
JOIN
1563-1769

NBI

1838-2001
TGEN
1563-1769

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Marton (near Congleton), 1536-2001

Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Marton is a chapelry in the parish of Prestbury. The church is known as St. James'.Cheshire Record Office Call number.: P224/1-4, P224/6130/1-2.

Parish registers FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1536-1722, 1724-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1837. Marriages 1769. Burials 1813-1846. BRITISH
1656603 Items 4 - 8
Baptisms, 1838-2000. Burials, 1847-2001. FHL BRITISH
2262784 Items 2 - 3
Baptisms, 1838-2000. Burials, 1847-2001. BRITISH
2356794 Items 1 - 2

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  •  Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 29 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 April 2014, at 15:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,561 times.