Marton cum Moxby, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Marton cum Moxby, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Easingwold PLU|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Marton St Mary or Marton cum Moxby is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.Other places in the parish include: Throwthorpe and Moxby.
MARTON-IN-THE-FOREST, a parish, in the union of Easingwould, wapentake of Bulmer, N. riding of York, 5¾ miles (E. by S.) from Easingwould; containing, with the hamlet of Moxby, 173 inhabitants. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Marton Cum Moxby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk|
|MARTON CUM MOXBY PARISH (1720) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:56.
- This page has been accessed 855 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki