Marton le MoorEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-RGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Marton le Moor
Marton le Moor
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hallikeld
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk PLU
Registration District Ripon
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Topcliffe with Dalton and Kirby on the Moor
Bishop's Transcripts: 1872
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Guide to Marton le Moor, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

MARTON-LE-MOOR, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Topcliffe, and partly in that of Kirby-on the-Moor, wapentake of Hallikeld, N. riding of York, 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Boroughbridge. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Marton-Le-Moor exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
MARTON-LE-MOOR CHAPELRY (1872) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1872-1874

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Marton-le-Moor and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirby on the Moor to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRBY ON THE MOOR page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 269-271. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 01:00.
  • This page has been accessed 732 times.