Maschwanden parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Maschwanden

Feld
Grischhei
Maschwanden
Neumatt

Oberer Rain
Rüteli
Unterer Rain
Weid

Surrounding Parishes

Cham (Zug)
Knonau
Mettmenstetten
Obfelden

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Maschwanden:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 690
1634 1185139 1 265
1637 1185141 2 491
1640 1185143 1 625
1643 1185145 1 613
1646 1185147 2 445
1649 1185149 1 301
1657 1185179 1 31
1670 1185153 1 641
1678 1185152 3 955
1682 1185158 3 125
1689 1185164 1 559
1695 1185168 2 105
1708 1185170 2 33

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Maschwanden families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Maschwanden belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Maschwanden prior to 1875:

Bär
Binder
Buchmann
Dubs (1834)
Fluck
Frei
Frick
Funk

Gallmann
Grob
Gut
Kleiner
Leuthold
Lozinsky (1873, from Poland)
Nievergelt

Salzmann
Stäheli
Stähli
Stehli
Studer
Urmi
Weilenmann

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:40.
  • This page has been accessed 283 times.