Matagorda County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Matagorda County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Matagorda County Courthouse
1700 7th Street
Bay City, TX 77414
County Clerk has birth records from 1903,
marriage records from 1838, death records
from 1917, land records from 1827, probate
records form late 1800’s, military records from
1919 and court records from 1981
1700 7th Street, Room 202
Bay City, TX 77414-5094
1700 7th Street, Room 307
Bay City, TX 77414
Part of Stephen F. Austin's Colony.
1836--Matagorda County was created 17 March 1836 from an Old Mexican Municipality. County seat: Bay City 
See an interactive map of Matagorda County border changes.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Matagorda County Cemeteries (rootsweb) RootsWeb
- Cemeteries of Matagorda County Texas (Cemeteries of Texas project) Cemeteries of Texas
- Find-A-Grave (Matagorda county) - Find-A-Grave
- 1850 Index
- 1870 African-American Families
- 1870 Palacios Point
- 1880 Search at FamilySearch
- 1910 Collegeport Community
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Matagorda County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- Texas Historical Commission Atlas
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Republic of Texas
- General Military Links
- Confederate Military Information
- Gold Star Mothers
- Texas in the Civil War
- War Casualties
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Matagorda County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Bay City Tribune
- Matagorda County Advocate
- Palacios Beacon
- Newspapers Available at Matagorda County Museum
- Celebrations - Articles about events
For current obituaries see newspaper sites above
- Obituaries - Matagorda TXGenWeb
- Matagorda County Photographs - Matagorda TXGenWeb
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Matagorda Schools - Matagorda TXGenWeb
- Texas, Matagorda County, School Census Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Marriages and Wedding Articles - Matagorda TXGenWeb
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Matagorda County Historical Records
P. O. Box 275
Blessing, TX 77419-0275
Bay City Public Library
1100 7th St.
Bay City, TX 77414
326 Main St.
Palacios, TX 77465
Matagorda County Museum
2100 Avenue F.
Bay City, TX 77414
City By the Sea Museum
401 Commerce Street
Palacios, TX 77465
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- TXGenWeb - Matagorda County
- Texas Historical Commission
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Matagorda County, Texas. Page 669 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 1 October 2015, at 16:24.
- This page has been accessed 11,525 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News