Matfen, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Matfen, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Matfen, Northumberland
Holy Trinity Matfen Northumberland.jpg
Holy Trinity Matfen Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MATFEN, EAST, a township, in the parish of Stamfordham, union of Castle ward, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. A chapel, also, seems to have existed at the place.[1]

Additional information:

Matfen Holy Trinity was created in 1846 from Stamfordham Ancient Parish.

"The Church dedicated to the Holy Trinity, is situated on the south side of the Pont, overlooking the village of Matfen.

It was erected in 1842 at the sole cost of Sir Edward Blackett, and consists of nave, chancel and tower, which houses three bells.

The style of architecture is Early English with single lancet windows.

Matfen was constituted a separate parish in February 1846.

After a period of years the patronage of the living was conveyed by the founder to the Bishop of Newcastle and it has recently been reconveyed to the Crown.

The organ given by Ursula Lady Blackett was built recently by Mr Nigel Church". [The Newcastle Diocesan Gazetteer (1982), page 38.]

MATFEN, EAST, a township, in the parish of Stamfordham, union of Castle ward, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 8¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Hexham; containing 110 inhabitants. It lies on the south side of the river Pont, above a mile west from Stamfordham, and comprises 1834a. 1r. 6p. of land: the village consists of a few straggling cottages only, although it seems to have been once a place of some importance. The Roman wall is not very far distant on the south. The tithes have been commuted for £19 payable to the vicar, and £221 to the Bishop of Durham.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Matfen, Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1844-1974, marriages 1846-1979 and burials 1845-1972 are available at Northumberland Collections Service

A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Stamfordham, Ryal and Matfen (microfiche TN87) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:14.
  • This page has been accessed 875 times.