Matlaske, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Matlaske, Norfolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Matlaske, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Matlaske, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Repps
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Parish History

MATLASK (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of North Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 7 miles (N. by W.) from Aylsham. [1]

Matlaske St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail:

Church records

Matlaske, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Matlaske, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1560-1900
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1904 Undefined 1558-1934 Undefined 1558-1903

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 229

Census records

Poor Law Unions


Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 271-277. Date accessed: 23 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 01:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,596 times.