Maulden, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Maulden, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Maulden, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Redbornestoke
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Ampthill PLU
Registration District Ampthill
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fleete
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MAULDEN (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Ampthill, the hundred of Redbornestoke, and county of Bedford. It is 1½ mile E from Ampthill. There are places of worship for Baptists and Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Maulden, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Maulden, Bedfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1812
1558-1812
1558-1812
IGI 1558-1875
1558-1885


NBI



1558-1862

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan chapels
  • Independents
  • Baptists

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241194.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Ampthill

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Maulden on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1831. Date accessed: 5 Dec 2013.
  2. 'Bedfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:35.
  • This page has been accessed 956 times.