Mavesyn Ridware, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Mavesyn Ridware, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mavesyn Ridware, Staffordshire
Mavesyn Ridware St Nicholas Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Lichfield PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rugeley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Alrewas and Weeford
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RIDWARE, MAVESYN (St. Nicholas), a parish,in the union of Lichfield, N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 4¾ miles(E. by S.) from Rugeley.[1]

Mavesyn Ridware St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire.Other places in the parish include: Blithbury, Ridware Hill, and Hill Ridware

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births marriages and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Mavesyn Ridware parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
MAVESYN RIDWARE PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1538-1900
1538-1899

FMP 1538-1900 1538-1900 1538-1899 1538-1899 1538-1901 1538-1901
FS 1663-1868
1663-1843

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1538-1931 Mar 1538-1990 Bur 1538-1910 (Bur missing for 1717-1771) Includes partial Bishop's Transcripts for some years
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1868 Mar 1663-1843 Bur 1663-1868 missing Bap Mar and burials for years 1836,1853


Parish registers for Mavesyn-Ridware, 1538-1901 Staffordshire Record Office no.: D 3712/1/1-6, D 3712/1, D4191/2-3.

Baptisms 1552-1769, 1813-1901 Marriages 1538-1650, 1663-1771 Burials 1538-1717 FHL BRITISH Film 1471184 Items 10-14 Marriages 1771-1900 Burials 1813-1900 FHL BRITISH Film 1526108 Items 1-4

Bishop's transcripts for Mavesyn-Ridware, 1663-1867 Microfilm of original records in the Staffordshire Record Office. Baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1663-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 421573 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1813-1867. FHL BRITISH Film 435804

Known Issue entries for the parish in England Births and Christenings 1538-1975 duplicate erroneous entries for the event in indexing project (batch) number: C39155-1 system origin: England-VR source film number: 1526108 with incorrect place data entry for Baptismal records for Rushall, Staffordshire

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/MavesynRidware/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Pipe', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 665-668. Date accessed: 02 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 20:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,127 times.