Mawgan-in-Pydar, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Mawgan-in-Pydar, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mawgan-in-Pydar, Cornwall
St. Mawgan Church Cornwall.jpg
St. Mawgan Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Columb Major PLU
Registration District St Columb
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MAWGAN-in-Pyder, a parish, in the union of St. Columb Major, E. division of the hundred of Pyder and of the county of Cornwall, 3 miles (N. W. by W.) from St. Columb Major. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]



Mawgan-in-Pydar, (Cornish: Lannhorn) St Mawgan (mauganus) & St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Lanherne.

The church is dedicated to St Mauganus  a Welshman and is also honoured at Mawgan in Meneage in Kerrier and in Wales and Brittany.

There is an unusual rood screen and bench ends andthere are many monumental brasses to members of the Arundell family; these include George Arundell, 1573, Mary Arundell, 1578, Cyssel and Jane Arundell, ca. 1580, Edward Arundell , 1586

The Arundells have been the chief landowners here since the 13th century: in 1794 Lanherne House (mainly built in the 16th and 17th centuries) became a convent for emigré nuns from Belgium. Many memorials of the Arundells may be found in the church and more in the church of St Columb Major, Cornwall

The modern parish is part of the St Mawgan with St Ervan and St Eval, United Benefice in the diocese of Truro.

RAF St Mawgan history

Opened as a civilian airfield in 1933, it was requisitioned at the outbreak of World War II and named RAF Trebelzue, initially as a satellite of nearby RAF St Eval, but was expanded with twin concrete runways. In February 1943 it was re-named RAF St. Mawgan and in June 1943, the United States Army Air Forces took over and carried out a number of major improvements, including a new control tower and a further extension of the main runway. The base was put under maintenance on 1 July 1947.

In 1951 it reopened as a Coastal Command base used for maritime reconnaissance, flying Avro Lancaster and Avro Shackleton aircraft. In 1956 with 220 and 228 Long Range Reconnaissance Squadrons. These Squadrons were later renumbered 201 and 206 and joined by 42 Sqn. It also became the Headquarters of 22 (helicopter) Sqn. In 1965 the Maritime Operational Training Unit took up residence. In 1992 it ceased to houses fixed wing aircraft.
In 1976 the film The Eagle Has Landed was filmed on the camp.

In 2008 the Cornwall County Council was given permission to operate the runway as Newquay Civil Airport,RAF Search and Rescue and the Cornwall Air ambulance service are based in part of the area.



Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

Mawgan-in-Pydar, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[11]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[12]
Mawgan-in-Pydar, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1608-1812

COPC 1813-1913
1608-1906
1768-1887
FMP 1608-1875 1608-1837 1813-1837
FREG
1608-1834

FS PRs 1837-1906
IGI 1608-1875 1608-1673
PALL
1800-1812

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 141

Lanherne Roman Catholic registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Lanherne Roman Catholic Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1710-1834

BOYD
1710-1834

FMP 1711-1819 1720-1834
IGI 1710-1819 1676-1875
PALL
1800-1834

TGEN
1710-1834

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241272.


Cornwall Online Census Project


Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/mawgan_in_pydar.php Susan Old is OPC and also has information transcribed for St Eval, CornwallSt Ervan, CornwallSt Merryn, Cornwall and  St Columb Major, Cornwall,

Poor Law Unions

St Columb Major Poor Law Union

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 277-280. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 27 November 2013.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  12. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,072 times.