Mayfield, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Mayfield, Sussex
Mayfield St Dunstan East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loxfield-Pelham
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Uckfield PLU
Registration District Uckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MAYFIELD (St. Dunstan), a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Loxfield-Camden, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 9 miles (E. N. E.) from Uckfield; Here are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. A free school, founded in 1749.[1]


Mayfield St Dunstan is an Ancient parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex which included Five Ashes.

A history of St Dunstan and Good Shepherd Five Ashes Mayfiled St Dunstan and Good Shepherd Five Ashes

The Parish Church of St Dunstan has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Mayfield Sussex Online Parish Clerks Online(OPC)

See  also Mayfield East Sussex Wikipedia

The Anglican wood boarded Church of the Good Shepherd Five Ashes is within the the Ancient Parish.

a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Mayfield, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
Mayfield, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1897
1813-1881

SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
TGEN
1590-1812

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Mayfield

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

Poor Law Unions

Uckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 277-280. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,249 times.