McCurtain County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png McCurtain County

McCurtain County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, military records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, and newspapers.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19
McCurtain County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting McCurtain County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Idabel
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address McCurtain County Courthouse
108 N. Central Ave.
Idabel, Oklahoma 74745
Phone: 580.286.2370

Contents

County Courthouse

McCurtain County Courthouse
108 N Central Avenue
Idabel, OK 74745
Phone: 580.286-2370 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907[1]

History

Parent County

1907--McCurtain County was created 16 July 1907 from Choctaw Lands.
County seat: Idabel [2]

See the McCurtain County entry of the Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture for a brief history.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Alikchi, America, Battiest, Beachton, Bethel, Bokhoma, Boss, Broken Bow, Buck Creek Landing, Burwell, Clebit, Crossroads, Doaksville (historical), Eagletown, Eastport, Farmers Hill, Felker, Garvin, Glover, Golden, Goodlake, Goodwater, Harris, Haworth, Hill Chapel, Hochatown, Holly Creek, Idabel, Iron Stob Corner, Kulli, Kullituklo, Lukfata, Millerton, Moon, Mound Grove, Mount Herman, Mount Zion, Nani-chito, North Pole, Oak Hill, Pickens, Plainview, Pleasant Hill, Plunketville, Redland, Ringold, Rufe, Sherwood, Shinewell, Shults, Slim, Smithville, Steel Junction, Stephens Gap, Tiner, Tom, Ultima Thule, Valliant, Watson,Wright City[3]

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Archives

Cemeteries

Battiest, Beachton, Beechtree, Bethel, Big Lick, Bohanan, Bokhoma, Broken Bow, Buffalo, Byrms, Canfield, Clear Creek, Crown Hill, Cusher, Denison, Eagletown, Eastport, Forest Hill, Harris, Harris Mill, Haworth, Hochatown, Joe Slater Memorial, Kulli Tuklo, Kulli-Chito, Lukfata, Manning, Milton, Miners, Moran, Mountain Fork, Naniah Chito, Nani-Chito, Oka Achukma, Old Bohanan, Old Panther, Old Smithville, Panki Bok, Parson, Parsons, Philadelphia, Pine Ridge, Pruitt's Field, Redland, Ringold, Rufe, Sand Hill, Sherwood, Smithville, Sweet Home, Thomas Chapel, Tohwali, Tonka, Valliant, Valliant Upton, Waterhole, Watson, Watsons Memorial, Wheelock, Wilson Chapel, Wright City, Yasho

McCurtain County Cemeteries at Findagrave.com

McCurtain County Cemetery Locations - Satellite Views

Census

For tips on accessing McCurtain County, Oklahoma census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

A brief history of Wheelock Seminary, part of the Wheelock Mission church can be found in the Chronicles of Oklahoma.

Court

Oklahoma Public Court Records

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for McCurtain County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

McCurtain County and Southeast Oklahoma : History, Biography, Statistics, a Complete Church, Lodge, School, Professional, Business and Trade Directory of the County

The Choctaw Freedmen and the Story of Oak Hill Industrial Academy, Valliant, McCurtain County, Oklahoma, now called the Alice Lee Elliott Memorial...

Maps

Okmccurtain.jpg


Military

Also see: Oklahoma Military Records

World War II

The Oklahoma section of the book World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces is available at the National Archives website. Soldiers from McCurtain County are listed here and here.

The State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from: Oklahoma is also available. It is not broken out by county, however. Note: Casualities include the wounded in addition to those killed.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McCurtain County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

Historic Newspapers (no longer published)

Here are the known McCurtain County newspapers, along with where they were published and their years of publication. See the Chronicling America and Worldcat websites for libraries and institutions that may hold copies or microfilm.

  • Acme News, Broken Bow, 1912-1913
  • American Socialist, Garvin, 1910-191?
  • B B Developer, Broken Bow, 1911-1913
  • Beacon-Times, Idabel, 1911-191?
  • Broken Bow News and McCurtain County News-Graphic, Broken Bow, 1973-1976
  • Broken Bow News, Broken Bow, 1913-1973
  • Broken Bow News-Graphic, Broken Bow, 1976-1976
  • Challenger, Valliant, 1968-1981
  • Daily Beacon-Times, Idabel, 1913-191?
  • Democrat Record and Beacon-Times, Idabel, 1914-1915
  • Democrat-Record, Idabel, 1910-1914
  • Democrat-Record, Idabel, 1915-191?
  • Garvin Graphic, Garvin, 1903-1919
  • Garvin Pioneer, Garvin, 190?-191?
  • Haworth Herald, Haworth, 1912-192?
  • Idabel News, Idabel, 1919-1922
  • Idabel Signal, Idabel, 1905-190?
  • Little Dixie Beacon, Idabel, 1967-19??
  • McCurtain County American, Smithville, 1907-190?
  • McCurtain County Beacon, Idabel, 1911-1911
  • McCurtain County Journal, Valliant, 1981-1983
  • McCurtain County Record, Valliant, 19??-195?
  • McCurtain Daily Gazette, Idabel, 1969-1972
  • McCurtain Democrat, Idabel, 1922-194?
  • McCurtain Gazette, Idabel, 1907-1969
  • McCurtain Gazette, Idabel, 1972-1978
  • McCurtain Record, Valliant, 1908-1910
  • McCurtain Weekly Gazette, Idabel, 1969-1972
  • Methodist Herald, Broken Bow, 1921-1921
  • Millerton Progress, Millerton, 1908-1910
  • Millerton Progress-News, Millerton, 190?-1908
  • The-Signal, Idabel, 1905-1905
  • Valliant News, Valliant, 1904-190?
  • Valliant Times, Valliant, 1910-1911
  • Valliant Tribune, Valliant, 1911-194?

Historic Newspapers available online

The website Gateway to Oklahoma History has digitized a few issues of McCurtain County newspapers from the early 1900s, including:

Current Newspapers

  • Broken Bow News, Broken Bow, 1976-Current
  • Southeast Times, Broken Bow, 1988-Current
  • McCurtain Daily Gazette, Idabel, 1978-Current
  • McCurtain Sunday Gazette and Broken Bow News, Idabel, 1977-Current
  • Valliant Leader, Valliant, 1983-Current. A few issues of the Valliant Leader from 2005-2007 have been digitized by Google Newspapers.

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Libraries, Museums and Societies

Libraries

The Southeastern Public Library System of Oklahoma serves several counties, including McCurtain.

Individual libraries are:

Museums

McCurtain County Veteran's Memorial Museum, Idabel

Museum of the Red River, Idabel

Societies

The Kiamichi Country Genealogy Society (Broken Bow) has published the newsletter Kiamichian since 1990. See worldcat.org for libraries' holdings and PERSI (within HeritageQuest) for a catalog of their subjects.

McCurtain County Genealogical Society has published the newsletter Intikba since 1985. See worldcat.org for libraries' holdings and PERSI (within HeritageQuest) for a catalog of their subjects.

McCurtain County Historical Society (also see their Facebookpage.)

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McCurtain County, Oklahoma. Page 561 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. US Geographic Names Server website

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 February 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 11,639 times.