McDonald County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
McDonald County
Guide to McDonald County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| McDonald County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 3, 1849 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Pinneville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | McDonald County Courthouse Hwy W; Pinneville, MO 64856-0665 Phone: 417.223.4717 McDonald County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Recorder Deeds has marriage records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and
land records; probate Judge has probate
records[1]
History
Parent County
1849--McDonald County was created 3 March 1849 from Newton County. County seat: Pineville. [2]
Boundary Changes
- See an interactive map of McDonald County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
BillionGraves
- Cowan Cemetery, Center
- Fox Cemetery, Powell East of Powell.
- Hagee Road Cemetery, Anderson East
- Pineville Cemetery, Pineville North
- Roller Cemetery, Powell
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for McDonald County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Missouri Local Histories
- McDonald County, Missouri County Historical Society
- An Illustrated history of McDonald County, Missouri: from the earliest ... by J.A. Sturges (1897) is available online free from Google Books.
- Biographies from The History of McDonald County, Missouri (1888) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
Maps
- Map of McDonald County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including McDonald County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
- Map of 1904 McDonald County with numerous small settlements (My Genealogy Hound)
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McDonald County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a McDonald County, Missouri Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Joplin newspapers and Neosho newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from McDonald County communities.
Probate
Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office.
Births
- 1853-1860 - McDonald County Birth Index 1853-1860. Batch C515351 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1883-1887 - McDonald County Birth Index 1883-1887. Batch C515404 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
- 1865-1885 - McDonald County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1865-1885. Batch M515351 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McDonald County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 June 2013, at 15:26.
- This page has been accessed 1,802 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
