McDonough County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
McDonough County
Guide to McDonough County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| McDonough County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | January 25, 1826 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Macomb |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | McDonough County Courthouse 1 Courthouse Square Macomb, Illinois 61455 (309) 833-2474 McDonough County Website |
McDonough County Organization
McDonough County's civil records start the following years:
| Beginning Dates for McDonough County Records | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1870 |
1830 |
1870 |
1830 |
1817 |
1833 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for McDonough County are kept, see the McDonough County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
McDonough County is named for Thomas McDonough whose most notable achievement was when, as commander of American naval forces during the War of 1812, he won the decisiveBattle of Lake Champlain.[1]Parent County
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of McDonough County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
- Adair
- Bardolph
- Blandinsville
- Bushnell
- Colchester
- Colmar
- Fandon
- Good Hope
- Industry
- Macomb (county seat)
- New Philadelphia
- Prairie City
- Sciota
- Tennessee
- Walnut Grove
Township Names
Bethel, Blandinsville, Bushnell, Colchester, Chalmers, Eldorado, Emmet, Hire, Industry, Lamoine, Macomb, Mound, New Salem, Prairie City, Sciota, Scotland, Tennessee, Walnut Grove
Place Names
Rezab, Gordana. Place names of McDonough County, Illinois : past and present. Macomb, Ill.: Western Illinois University, 2008. Digital Version at Internet Archive.
Neighboring Counties
Resources and Records
Biography
- The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a McDonough County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of McDonough County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Cemeteries
Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
Published Records
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in McDonough County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
Online Gravestone Transcriptions
- McDonough County ILGenWeb. See the Cemeteries page for a list of burial sites. Table includes reference to tombstone transcription publications.
- Find A Grave.com has burial information for nearly 100 McDonough County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.
- GenealogyTrails.com. Find or add headstone transcriptions for McDonough County Cemeteries.
- Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project. Find or submit McDonough County tombstone photos.
- Illinois Tombstone Transcription Project. Get accesss to online cemetery transcriptions for several McDonough County Cemeteries.
- Interment.net has some McDonough County Cemetery Records available online.
- Linkpendium. Has links to several McDonough County Cemetery related websites.
Cemetery Gazetters
- Epodunk has a list of McDonough County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.
- The Illinois State Genealogical Society's "Cemetery Location Project" has identified many McDonough County Cemeteries.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1900 | 28,412 | ||
| 1910 | 26,887 | −5.4% | |
| 1920 | 27,074 | 0.7% | |
| 1930 | 27,329 | 0.9% | |
| 1940 | 26,944 | −1.4% | |
| 1950 | 28,199 | 4.7% | |
| 1960 | 28,928 | 2.6% | |
| 1970 | 36,653 | 26.7% | |
| 1980 | 37,467 | 2.2% | |
| 1990 | 35,244 | −5.9% | |
| 2000 | 32,913 | −6.6% | |
| IL Counties 1900-1990 | |||
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, McDonough County on page 187.]
Church Records
- 1830–1991 Inventory of the McDonough County Genealogical Society's church records FHL film 1787898 and 1787899 Item 1
- 1846–1884 Marriages performed by Rev. W.S. Campbell FHL film 1035833 Item 1
- 1850–1874, 1940 Old Bedford Christian Church membership FHL film 1822221 Item 5
- 1855–1922 Methodist Episcopal Church FHL film 1823061 Items 1-4
- 1859–1992 New Salem Christian Church FHL film 1844903 Items 10-14
- 1866–1990 West Prairie Presbyterian Church FHL film 1787899 Items 2–7
- 1892–1928 Mt. Carmel Presbyterian Church Minutes, baptisms, marriages, deaths FHL film 1819991 Item 6
- Methodist
- Membership Book (1950-1969). Pennington Point Methodist Church.
- Membership Record (1869-1882). Pennington Point Methodist Church.
- Membership Record (1869-1902). Pennington Point Methodist Church.
- Quarterly Conference Record (1860-1882). Pennington Point Methodist Church.
- Membership Record (1902-1918). Pennington Point Methodist Church.
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for McDonough County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- 1830–1908 Circuit Court case files IRAD–WIU
- 1830–1937 Circuit Court Record, Common Law IRAD–WIU
- 1831–1908 Circuit court Judgment dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1837–1851 Circuit Court dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1838–1937 Circuit Court Record, Chancery IRAD–WIU
- 1840–1963 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1841–1844 Circuit court complete record, common law IRAD–WIU
- 1849–1914 Circuit Court Execution dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1869–1875 Patent records FHL film 1787774 Item 6
- 1857–1869 Patent records FHL film 1787774 Item 7
- 1870–1937 Circuit Court record, criminal IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1886 County Court Case Files IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1890 County Court IndexI RAD–WIU
- 1872–1957 County Court Record IRAD–WIU
- 1873–1877 Circuit court indictment record IRAD–WIU
- 1875–1935 Insanity Record IRAD–WIU
- 1880–1941 County Court Miscellaneous Record IRAD–WIU
- 1882–1938 County Court Fee Books IRAD–WIU
- 1891–1954 Jury Registers IRAD–WIU
- 1893–1925 Insanity Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1914–1941 Mother's Pension RecordIRAD–WIU
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
Local Histories
- Clarke, S. J. History of McDonough County, Illinois: Its Cities, Towns and Villages, with Early Reminiscences, Personal Incidents and Anecdotes, and a Complete Business Directory of the County. Springfield, Ill.: D.W. Lusk, State Printer and Binder, 1878. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books; Internet Archive.
- Portrait and biographical record of Hancock, McDonough and Henderson counties, Illinois : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county (1894)
- History of McDonough County, Illinois: Together with Sketches of the Towns, Villages and Townships, Educational, Civil, Military and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Individuals, and Biographies of the Representative Citizens: History of Illinois, Embracing Accounts of the Pre-historic and Historic Races and a Brief Review of Its Civil and Military History. Springfield, Ill.: Continental Historical Co., 1885. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive.
- Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of McDonough County. Chicago: Munsell Pub. Co., 1907. Digital version at Ancestry ($); USGenWeb (partial)
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for McDonough County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Abstracts
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family maps of McDonough County, Illinois : with homesteads, roads, waterways, towns, cemeteries, railroads and more. Norman, Oklahoma: Arphax Pub. Co., 2008. Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 E7b
Copies of original records
- 1802–1938 Town lot abstracts FHL film 1688526 Item 1
- 1817–1962 Deed RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1831–1905 Grantor and grantee indexes FHL first film 1787775 (first of 6 films)
- 1831–1847 School land record FHL film 1787440 Item 3
- 1831–1986 Deed IndexIRAD–WIU
- 1831–1847 School Land Sale Record IRAD–WIU
- 1831–1986 Land AbstractsIRAD–WIU
- 1834–1975 Plat RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1836–1854 Mortgage RecordIRAD–WIU
- 1862–1878 Estray record, justice of the peace IRAD–WIU
- 1864–1873 Plat record, schools IRAD–WIU
- 1867–1880 Chattel mortgage record IRAD–WIU
- 1881–1917 Chattel Mortgage Record IRAD–WIU
- 1910–1918 Stallion Registration Record IRAD–WIU
- 1913 Standard atlas - including plat book FHL film 1597942 Item 3
- 1945 Plat book of farm ownership of McDonough County, Illinois Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 R2p
- 1954 Farm Plat book and business guide Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 R2r
- 1969 Triennial atlas & plat book Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 E7rm
- 1972 Atlas and plat book Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 E7r
- 1986 Land Atlas and plat book Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 E7m
Additional Resources
Additional resources for McDonough County land and property may be found in the FHLC. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- McDonough County Federal Township Plats
- Plat book of McDonough County, Illinois. Chicago : Occidental Pub. Co., 1893. Digital Version at Library of Congress.
Maps
- Plat book of McDonough County, Illinois. Chicago : Occidental Pub. Co., 1893. Digital Version at Library of Congress.
- Plat book of McDonough County, Illinois. Chicago : Occidental Pub. Co., 1893. Digital Version at Library of Congress.
Military
- 1843–1846 Militia Roll Record IRAD–WIU
Civil War
Civil War service men from McDonough County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of McDonough County.
- - 2nd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- - 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- - 11th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company I.
- - 16th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, and C.
- - 21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 28th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 55th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies F and G.
- - 59th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 64th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Yates’ Sharpshooters), Companies A and D.
- - 65th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Scotch Regiment), Company E.
- - 78th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and I.
- - 84th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, C and F.
- - 119th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 124th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and I.
- - 137th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies C, D, G, and I.
- - 151st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company C.
Naturalization
Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for McDonough County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1854–1884 Naturalization Record, Final IRAD–WIU
- 1856–1937 Naturalization Declarations of Intent IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1913 Naturalization papers IRAD–WIU
- 1866–1877 Naturalization Record of Soldiers and Minors IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1892 Naturalization Record IRAD–WIU
- 1889–1906 Naturalization Declarations of Intent IRAD–WIU
- 1890–1904 Naturalization Record, Final IRAD–WIU
- 1891–1904 Naturalization Record of Minors IRAD–WIU
- 1907–1927 Naturalization Certificate stubs IRAD–WIU
- 1907–1938 Naturalization Petition Record IRAD–WIU
Newspapers and Obituaries
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for McDonough County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Abstracts
- 1834–1857 McDonough County Genealogical Society. Abstracts of wills in McDonough County, Illinois 1834-1857: from will book I in the courthouse at Macomb, Illinois, page 1 through page 193. Macomb, Illinois : McDonough County Genealogical Society, 1980. Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 P28a
- 1834–1851 Bell, Annie W. B. Record of wills in McDonough County, Illinois, 1834-1851. FHL book 977.342 S2b
Copies of original records
- 1833–1922 Probate record IRAD–WIU
- 1833–1940 Probate Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1833–1925 Probate Case Files IRAD–WIU
- 1834–1940 Probate Will Record IRAD–WIU
- 1838–1933 Probate Case Files, Guardians IRAD–WIU
- 1850–1859 Probate Administrator's and Guardian's Letters IRAD–WIU
- 1854–1865 Probate Inventory, Appraisement and Sale Record IRAD–WIU
- 1858–1921 Probate Administrator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1858–1926 Probate Executor's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1858–1940 Probate Guardian's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1924 Probate Appraisement Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1923 Probate Inventory Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1929 Probate Sale Record, Personal Property IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1957 Probate Inventory Record, GuardiansIRAD–WIU
- 1874–1953 Probate Widow's Relinquishment and Selection Record IRAD–WIU
- 1883–1932 Probate Administrator's Record with Will Annexed IRAD–WIU
- 1884–1932 Probate Administrator's Record De Bonis Non with Wills IRAD–WIU
- 1884–1924 Probate Conservator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1885–1923 Probate Administrator's and Executor's Reports IRAD–WIU
- 1885–1925 Probate Guardian's Report Record IRAD–WIU
- 1885–1939 Probate Sale Record, Real Estate IRAD–WIU
- 1901–1923 Probate Conservator's Report Record IRAD–WIU
- 1914–1928 Probate Settlement Record IRAD–WIU
Additional Resources
Additional resources for McDonough County probates may be found in the Illinois, McDonough – Probate topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Online Resources
McDonough County Probate Case Files Index, 1833-1925, courtesy: Illinois State Archives
McDonough County Guardian's Case Files Index, 1838-1933, courtesy: Illinois State Archives
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for McDonough County are kept, see the McDonough County Courthouse page.
Family History Center
Macomb Illinois Family History Center
2000 W Adams
Macomb, IL 61455
309-836-3201
To learn more about the genealogical resources available at Family History Centers, see Introduction to LDS Family History Centers. For center hours and holiday closure information, see Macomb Illinois Family History Center.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for McDonough County.
Public Libraries
Blandinsville-Hire Public Library District
130 South Main Street
Blandinsville, IL 61420
Tel: 309-652-3166
Bushnell Public Library District
455 N. Dean Street
Bushnell, IL 61422
Tel: 309-772-2060
Fax: 309-772-9038
Email: plibrary@bushnell.net
Colchester District Library
203 Macomb St.
Colchester, IL 62326
Tel: 309-776-4861
Fax: 309-776-4099
Email: colchesterlibrary@yahoo.com
235 S. Lafayette
Macomb, Illinois 61455-2231
Tel: 309-833-2714
Fax: 309-833-2714
Email: library@macomb.com
School Records
- 1876–1948 School teacher's daily registers IRAD–WIU
Social Groups Online
Societies
McDonough County Genealogical Society
201 S. Lafayette Street
Macomb IL 61455
Tel: 309-255-5161
Email: mcgs@macomb.com
The McDonough County Genealogical Society Research Center is located within the Western Illinois Museum.
McDonough County Historical Society
P.O Box 83
Macomb, IL 61455
Taxation
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the McDonough County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for McDonough County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
Births:
Abstracts of Birth Records
Copies of Original Birth Records
- 1902–1941 Birth and Death Reporting Accounts IRAD–WIU
Marriages:
Online Resources
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
Abstracts of Marriage Records
- 1830–1900 Grimm, Libby, and Mary Hartmann. McDonough County marriages. Macomb, Illinois: McDonough County Genealogical Society, 1980-. Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 V2m v. 1–6
- 1830–1851 Bell, Annie W. B. Record of marriages in McDonough County, Illinois, for the period of years, 1830-1851. Washington, D.C.: [s.n.], 1935. Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL film 908131 Item 4
Copies of original Marriage Records
Deaths:
Online Resources
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950 Also at genealogytrails.com.
- 1850–1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com (Free)
Abstracts of Death Records
- 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880 Allen, Margaret McKee. 1850-60-70-80 mortality schedules for McDonough County, Illinois. Macomb, Illinois : McDonough County Genealogical Society, [1982?].Many libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.342 V4a
- 1966–1970 Foster, Virgil R. Index to Fulton, McDonough and Hancock counties, Illinois obituaries Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1993. FHL film 1697879 Item 12
Copies of original Death Records
- 1844–1903 Coroner's Inquest Files IRAD–WIU
- 1860–1923 Coroner's Inquest Record IRAD–WIUFHL first film 1787441 Item 4 (first of 2 films
- 1902–1941 Birth and Death Reporting Accounts IRAD–WIU
Additional Resources
Additional resources for McDonough births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, McDonough – Vital Records topic page and the Illinois, McDonough – Vital Records - Newspapers topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Mcdonough County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Thomas McDonough, www.wikipedia.org
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 196. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:32.
- This page has been accessed 4,508 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



