McIntosh County, Oklahoma GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from McIntosh County, Oklahoma)

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png McIntosh County

McIntosh County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records



Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

McIntosh County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting McIntosh County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Eufaula
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address McIntosh County Courthouse
110 N. 1st Street
Eufaula, Oklahoma 74432
Phone: 918.689.2741

Contents

County Courthouse

McIntosh County County
110 N 1st Street
Eufaula, OK 74432
Phone: 918.689-2741 

County Clerk has birth and death records 1911-1918
and land records; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce,
probate and court records form 1907[1]

History

Parent County

1907--McIntosh County was created 16 July 1907 from Creek Lands.
County seat: Eufaula [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Hitchita is a small town of about 113 people in the 2000 census.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

An index of cemeteries in McIntosh county is available the the Family History Library.

Cemeteries in McIntosh, Oklahoma
Cemetery Name
Nearest Municipality
Hitchita Lackey Cemetery

Hitchita
Indian Cemetery
Hitchita
Ridley Cemetery

Hitchita
Council Hill

Hitchita


Census

For tips on accessing McIntosh County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.


Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for McIntosh County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Muskogee and Northeastern Oklahoma: including the counties of Muskogee, McIntosh, Wagoner, Cherokee, Sequoyah, Adair, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Washington, Nowata, Craig, and Ottawa. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1922

Maps

Okmcintosh.jpg

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in McIntosh County

Map showing Civil war battles in Oklahoma

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McIntosh County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McIntosh County, Oklahoma. Page 561 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 April 2015, at 16:12.
  • This page has been accessed 6,112 times.