McLean County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  McLean County

Guide to McLean County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. Located in the Western Coal Fields region.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


McLean County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting McLean County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 6, 1854
County Seat Calhoun
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
McLean Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for McLean County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Deeds
Wills
1854
1854
1854
1860
1854
1847
*Many years between 1854 and 1911 are missing
McLean County Courthouse, Calhoun, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.
 

McLean County Courthouse
210 Main Street
Calhoun KY 42327-0057
Phone: 270.273.3082[1]

History

Parent County

1854--McLean County was created 6 February 1854 from Daviess, Ohio and Muhlenberg Counties.
County seat: Calhoun [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation

Record Loss

1908--A disaster destroyed some records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Beech Grove Congleton Livermore Rumsey
Buel Elba Nuckols Sacramento
Buttonsberry Glenville Poplar Grove Semiway
Calhoun Guffie Proverty Wrightsburg
Cleopatra Island Quinn Landing Wyman
Comer Lemon Rangers Landing

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kymclean.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18606,144
18707,61423.9%
18809,29322.1%
18909,8876.4%
190012,44825.9%
191013,2416.4%
192012,502−5.6%
193011,072−11.4%
194011,4463.4%
195010,021−12.4%
19609,355−6.6%
19709,062−3.1%
198010,09011.3%
19909,628−4.6%
20009,9383.2%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/211479.txt

For tips on accessing McLean County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
  • Cox, Elizabeth Smith. Guffie Thru the Years, McLean County, Kentucky. Calhoun, Ky.: Captain William Rowan Chapter, DAR, 1991. FHL Book 976.9826/G1 H2c
Bibliography
  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for McLean County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in McLean County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in McLean County, Kentucky:


- 17th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company B.
- 3rd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K, L and M.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McLean County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the McLean County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the McLean County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the McLean County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the McLean County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1854-1861 - McLean County Birth Index 1854-1861. Batch C517681 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1854-1861 - McLean County Marriage Index 1854-1861. Batch M517681 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876 - McLean County Marriage Index 1876. Batch M517682 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted

Voting Registers

The 1863 "Sacramento poll-book, McLean county, Kentucky," appeared as evidence in a House of Representatives case in Washington, D.C. Information is listed about more than 100 voters. For access, see:

  • "Contested election, John McHenry, Jr., vs. George H. Yeamans, second congressional district of Kentucky, papers," in U.S. Serial Set 1200 H.misdoc.36: Dec 9, 1863. Digital version in U.S. Serial Set, HeritageQuest Online ($). [Search for "Person Name" McHenry Yeamans, see pp. 86-88 for list.]

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McLean County, Kentucky page 273, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:46.
  • This page has been accessed 13,475 times.