Meade County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Meade County

Guide to Meade County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Meade County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Meade County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 17, 1823
County Seat Brandenburg
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Meade Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Meade County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Deeds
Wills
1852
1824
1852
1830
1824
1824
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Meade County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Meade County Courthouse
PO Box 614;
Brandenburg, KY 40108-0614
Phone: 270.422.2152[1]

History

Parent County

1823--Meade County was created 17 December 1823 from Breckinridge and Hardin Counties.  
County seat: Brandenburg [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1974--A disaster destroyed some records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Andyville Concordia Hillgrove Payneville
Battletown Doe Run Hughes Landing Pilcher Landing
Beechland Eastwood Hills Liberty Rhodelia
Brandenburg Ekron Lickskillet Roberta
Brandenburg Station Flaherty Lodale Rock Haven
Buck Grove Garrett Maples Corner Sirocco
Camp Carlson Grahamton Midway Van Voorhis Manor
Cedar Flat Guston Muldraugh Wolf Creek
Cold Springs Haysville Oolite

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Kymeade.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18304,131
18405,78039.9%
18507,39327.9%
18608,89820.4%
18709,4856.6%
188010,3238.8%
18909,484−8.1%
190010,53311.1%
19109,783−7.1%
19209,442−3.5%
19308,042−14.8%
19408,8279.8%
19509,4226.7%
196018,938101.0%
197018,796−0.7%
198022,85421.6%
199024,1705.8%
200026,3499.0%
Est. 200727,2703.5%
Meade County, Kentucky census figures

For tips on accessing Meade County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

  • [Alexander] Hardy, Stella Pickett. Colonial Families of the Southern States of America. New York: Tobias A. Wright, 1911. Digital version at Google Books - free.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Meade County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Meade County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Meade County, Kentucky:


- 2nd Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Woodward's) - CSA - Company E.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Meade County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Meade County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Meade County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Meade County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Meade County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1861 - Meade County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517741 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874 - Meade County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517742 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Meade County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517743 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1853-1862 - Meade County Marriage Index 1853-1862. Batch M517741 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Meade County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517744 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1877 - Meade County Marriage Index 1876-1877. Batch M517745 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Meade County, Kentucky page 273, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:46.
  • This page has been accessed 7,637 times.