Mecklenburg-Schwerin – Herzogtum (duchy)CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Mecklenburg-Schwerin – Großherzogtum (grand duchy) Page

Contents

Mecklenburg-Schwerin Census 1819

The Family History Library has films for the Mecklenburg census for 1819.  Family History Library staff and volunteers compiled a gazetteer of Mecklenburg in which he included the film numbers to the census for the towns listed in the gazetteer.  A census [Volkszählung] is a count and description of the population of a country, province, district or city.  They were often taken for taxation and military purposes.  Census records can be of great value to your genealogical research.  They are of especial value in putting families together.  But in Mecklenburg research, census records are of less significance than church records and civil registration.  The importance of the census to Mecklenburg research is not the same as in the United States where such vital records are difficult to find.  Two censuses were taken in Mecklenburg in the 1800s; one in the summer of 1819 and one in 1860.

The 1819 census is available for Mecklenburg-Schwerin only.  For Mecklenburg-Strelitz only a statistical summary of 1819 was preserved and it is of no genealogical value.  For each family the 1819 census of Mecklenburg provides the family names and given names of all family members.  For women it generally gives the maiden name.  The birthplace, birthdate, year, trade and religion are also given.  Children who were employed as servants were recorded with their masters.  This material is an excellent source for researchers.  A handy list of localities and their film numbers can be found here. Film numbers and localities were arranged courtesy of Janelle Bair.

The 1860 census is not available for genealogical research.

Census information for Mecklenburg-Schwerin can be viewed at ancestry.com. Hover your mouse pointer over the search button, then select card catalog. Filter your search by continent, country, state or locality and select the online data that is applicable for your research.

Mecklenburg-Schwerin Census 1867

Description of census records of the Grand Duchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany for 1867:
Towns are arranged under their enumeration district. The district could be a Ritteramt (R.A.), Domänenamt (D.A.), Klosteramt (K.A.) or Stadt. The 1867 Census contains three separate forms: the Bevölkerungstabelle, the Zählungsliste and the Nachtragsliste. The Bevölkerungstabelle lists heads-of-households and provides a numerical count of other household members. The Zählungsliste provides a complete list of all household members and gives the date of birth, religion, marital status, occupation and nationality. The Nachtragsliste is a supplemental list of individuals who were temporarily absent from their main residence at the time of the census. The census is available on FamilySearch here.

Mecklenburg-Schwerin Census 1890

Description of name index and images for a portion of the Mecklenburg-Schwerin 1890 census:
Towns are arranged under their enumeration district. Two types of forms are found for each town: Zählkarten and Namenslisten. The Zählkarten list individuals and give the date and place of birth, occupation, residence, gender and marital status, etc. The Namenslisten list the inhabitants of a given household and show relationship to the head of the household. Most of the census did not survive. The census is available on FamilySearch here.

Mecklenburg-Schwerin Census 1900

Description of census records of the Grand Duchy of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany for 1900:

Towns are arranged under their enumeration district. The district could be a Ritteramt (R.A.), Domänenamt (D.A.), Klosteramt (K.A.) or Stadt. Two types of forms are found for each town: The Zählkarten and the Haushaltungslisten. The Zählkarten list individuals and give the date and place of birth, occupation, residence, gender and marital status, etc. The Haushaltungslisten list the inhabitants of a given household and show relationship to the head of the household.  The census is available on FamilySearch here.

Mecklenburg-Schwerin Census 1919

The 1919 Mecklenburg-Schwerin census is available at Ancestry.com.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 August 2013, at 19:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,103 times.