Meeker County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Meeker County
Guide to Meeker County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Meeker County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 23, 1856 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Litchfield |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Meeker County Courthouse 325 N Shibley Avenue Litchfield, MN 55355 Phone: 320.693.5345 Meeker County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, death,
divorce and court records from 1870, probate
records from 1858, school records, naturalization
records from 1884.
Court Recorder has land record. [1]
History
Parent County
1856--Meeker County was created 23 February 1856 from Davis (Eliminated) County. County seat: Litchfield [2]
- For a brief history of how Meeker County was named, click here. Then select Meeker County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
For a list of cities and towns go to hometownlocator.com or wikipedia.com.
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Books
- Album of history and biography of Meeker County, Minnesota , Chicago : Alden, Ogle & Co., 1888. -- viii, 9-610 p. ports. Find a copy at Family History Library Film # 1000260 I. 3 or WorldCat. Contains sketches of cities and towns and biographies of old settlers and representative men and more.
- Illustrated album of biography of Meeker and McLeod counties, Minnesota Chicago : Alden, Ogle, 1888. 791 p. ports. Find a copy at Family History Library Film # 1421922 Item 2 or WorldCat.
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- 1874 Map of Litchfield, Meeker, Minnesota from the David Rumsey Map Collection.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Freeborn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Freeborn County.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Meeker County, Minnesota page 366, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 04:02.
- This page has been accessed 1,273 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

