Meerbrook, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Meerbrook, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Meerbrook, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Leek PLU
Registration District Leek
Records begin
Parish registers: 1738
Bishop's Transcripts: 1791
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leek
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MEERBROOK, a chapelry, in the township ofLeek-Frith, parish and union of Leek, N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (N.) from Leek.[1]

Meerbrook is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1724 from Leek, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Leekfrith.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Meerbrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
MEERBROOK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1791-1863



Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Leek Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 280-283. Date accessed: 02 November 2012.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:06.
  • This page has been accessed 854 times.