Meesden, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Meesden, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Meesden, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edwinstree
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Buntingford PLU
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1737
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buntingford
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Meesden (St. Mary), is a parish, in the Royston district of Hertfordshire; it is adjacent to Essex. It is 6 1/2 miles from the Buntingford railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Meesden, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Meesden, Hertfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1737-1804 1737-1804 1813-1837 1813-1837 1737-1809 1737-1809
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1737-1810 1738-1753, 1813-1837
JOIN
1738-1837

NBI

1800-1840


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288830.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Meesden on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  3. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  5. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 757 times.