Melling, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Melling, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See A List of Chapelries in Melling Parish

Melling, Lancashire
St Wilfrid's Church, Melling Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Lancaster PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1677
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Melling St Wilfrid (formerly St Peter) near Hornby is an Ancient Parish in the county of Lancashire.

Other places in the parish include: Botton, Melling with Wrayton, Wrayton, Wennington, and Roeburndale.
It should not be confused with Melling (near Liverpool), Lancashire in the same county.

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
Here is an 1848 historical perspective by the topographer Samuel A.  Lewis on this parish:

"MELLING (St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster; containing, with the two chapelries of Arkholme with Cawood, and Hornby, and the townships of Farleton, Roeburndale, Wennington, and Wray with Botton, and the township of Melling with Wrayton, 11 miles north and east from Lancaster. At Arkholme, Hornby, and Wray, are separate chapels.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Melling parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the web sites below and for the following ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MELLING ST WILFRID PARISH (1622) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1720-1902 1752-1935 1836-1861
LOPC None 1754-1920 1786-1812
FMP  None 1636-1837 - part. None
LBMD None 1837-1982 None
JOIN None 1813-1837 None
AC 1625-1752 1625-1752 1625-1752
ARKHOLME with CAWOOD ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1676) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1828-1864 None None
LOPC None None  None
AC 1742-1789 1742-1789 1742-1789
LBMD None 1864-2005 1837-1922
HORNBY ST MARGARET Chapelry (1742) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1742-1789 None None
LOPC 1742-1900 1743-1748  1763-1789
LBMD None 1859-1998 None
FREG 1742-1790 1743; 1748 1763-1789
WRAY Chapelry  (1690) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1692-1822
1690-1801
1695-1815
LOPC None
None
None
LBMD 1837-1937
None
1837-1937


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Melling. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Includes Arkholme, Bottin, Farleton, Hornby, Melling with Wrayton, Roeburndale, Wray.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. [A Topographical Dictionary of England] by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 283-287. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,749 times.