Mellor, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Mellor, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mellor, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Blackburn PLU
Registration District Blackburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1829; Separate registers exist from Blackburn Mellor Brook St Saviour beginning 1835
Bishop's Transcripts: 1830; Separate records exist from Blackburn Mellor Brook St Saviour beginning 1836
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackburn
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

MELLOR, a township with a district chapel, in the parish, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 2¾ miles northwest of Blackburn. The hamlet of Mellor-Brook, is partly in this township, and partly in that of Balderstone. The district church, dedicated to St. Mary, was built in 1829. At Mellor-Brook is St. Saviour's chapel, purchased from the Independents in 1834. A district has been assigned to it, and also comes under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of Blackburn Parish. The Wesleyan Methodists have two places of worship, one of them situated near the mill.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Mellor chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Blackburn St Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


MELLOR ST MARY Chapelry  (1829) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1829-1901 1837-1900 None
LOPC 1829-1908 1837-1900 1830-1900
LBMD 1837-1964 1837-2010 1837-1964
BLACKBURN ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1600-1910 1600-1704, 1720-1900 1720-1900
LOPC 1600-1611, 1614-1628, 1653-1848, 1854-1881 1600-1680, 1698-1705, 1722-1900 1651-1652, 1746-1900
LBMD 1837-1885 1837-1957 1837-1885
FMP None 1600-1705 None
AC 1600-1660 1600-1660 1600-1660


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Mellor and comprising the whole ancient parish of Blackburn St Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BLACKBURN ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306893.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 283-287. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 October 2103.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,945 times.