Melverley, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Melverley, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Melverley, Shropshire
Eglwys melverley.png
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswestry
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham PLU
Registration District Atcham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1723
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oswestry
Diocese St Asaph
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1848 - MELVERLEY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Atcham, hundred of Oswestry, N. division of the county of Shropshire, 11 miles (W. N. W.) from Shrewsbury. [1]

The parish of Melverley originally formed part of the Welsh Diocese of St Asaph. However, following the disestablishment of the Anglican church in Wales in 1920, the parish was transferred to the English Diocese of Lichfield.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474586.

Church Records

The following records of Melverley are available on the IGI:

Type Years Batch Number
Baptisms 1800-1860 C006792
Marriages 1724-1811 & 1815-1860 M006791
Mixed 1723-1799 P006792
Mixed   E016071

Melverley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
MELVERLEY PARISH (1723) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1724-1811

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1723-1812
1723-1812
1723-1812
IGI 1723-1860 1724-1811, 1815-1860
JOIN
1724-1813

MLOC 1723-1812
1723-1812
1723-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1860 Marr 1662-1860 Bur 1662-1860

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Civil Records

The parish of Melverley was part of the Atcham Registration District on its formation in 1837. On 1 Oct 1935 Melverley was transferred to the Oswestry Registration district.

Entries for births, marriages or deaths in Melverley will appear in the GRO Indexes as:

Years District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 30 Sep 1934 Atcham XVIII (1837-51)
6a (1852-1935)
1 Oct 1935 - 1974 Oswestry 6a (1935-1946)
9A (1946-74)

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed: 02 July 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 19:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,014 times.