Menard County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties M
Menard County
Guide to Menard County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
County Courthouse
Menard County CourthousePO Box 1028
Menard, Texas 76859
Phone: 915.396.4682
County Clerk has birth and court records from 1900, marriage records from 1878, death records from 1917, divorce records from 1889, probate and land records from 1880[1]
This is the third and present day courthouse for Menard County, Texas. Built in 1931, it replaced the old 1885 building and provided much needed jobs for the community at a reported wage of 25 cents per hour.[2]
The county was awarded grant funds in 2004 from the Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program.[3] A major part of the renovation was completed in 2007 and county officials returned to the courthouse.
- Pictures of 1885 and 1931 courthouse - Menard TXGenWeb site
- History of Menard Co. Courthouse - Menard TXGenWeb site
- County Clerk Contact Information - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Menard Courthouse - Texas Escapes
Menard County; PO Box 1028; Menard, TX 76859; Ph. 915.396.4682 Details: (Co Clk has b & ct rec from 1900, m rec from 1878, d rec from 1917, div rec from 1889, pro & land rec from 1880)
History
The first permanent Anglo-American settlement was Menardville in 1867. Unfortunately, they were not able to establish their own government until 1871, when Menardville was officially named the county seat.
Menard County was named in honor of Michel Branamour Menard (1805-1856), who was an early settler of Galveston, TX. Located in Central Texas, Menard County is on the edge of the Edwards Plateau and lies within the Colorado River basin.
- Menard County Historical Timeline - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Menard County Formation - Menard TXGenWeb site
Parent County
1858--Menard County was created 22 January 1858 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Menard [4]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
None.
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Ft. McKavett
Community
- Ft. McKavett History from Newspapers - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Scabtown - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Weather in McKavett - Weather conditions for area
Military
- Fort McKavett Military Post - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Fort McKavett State Historical Park - Website for Fort McKavett State Park
- Friends of Fort McKavett - Organization to attract attention to Fort McKavett. Good news articles and history.
- Ft McKavett and the Hill Country - Texas Beyond History Fort site
- Post on the San Saba - Texas Beyond History site
Hext
- Hext History - Menard TXGenWeb Site. History of the community. Also known as Wagnerville.
Menard
- Menard - From Texas Escapes
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
Ft. McKavett Cemetery
The Ft. McKavett Cemetery is located near the Ft. McKavett State Park. It was the original burial site for the soldiers of the Fort and residents of the McKavett Community. There is also a Catholic section of burials in this cemetery.
- Ft. McKavett Cemetery- Menard TxGenWeb site with information on burials. (partial listing)
- Ft. McKavett Cemetery Transcription - Located on Cemeteries of Tx, this transcription was the work of Frederica Burt Wyatt.
- Find-A-Grave for Ft. McKavett - Main page for Ft. McKavett Cemetery on Find-A-Grave. You can view all burials or search by name.
Garden of Memories Cemetery
A Catholic Cemetery for the town of Menard that was established around the early to mid-1930's.
- Burials at Garden of Memories - Menard TXGenWeb site
- Garden of Memories burials - Find-A-Grave memorials for people buried in Garden of Memories. Can be searched by name or browse all memorials.
Hext Cemetery
Cemetery for the residents of the Hext community.
- Hext Burials - Find-A-Grave listing of graves in the Hext Cemetery. Can be searched by name or browse all burials.
Little Saline Cemetery
Cemetery for the Saline Community.
- Little Saline Cemetery Transcription - from Cemeteries of Texas. History and burial information the work of Frederica Burt Wyatt.
- Little Saline Cemetery - Find-A-Grave listing of burials. Can be searched by name.
Noguess Cemetery
A family cemetery located on private property. It is also known as the Vaughan Cemetery.
- Vaughan/Noguess Cemetery Burials - Findagrave memorials.
- Vaughan/Noguess Cemetery- Names and pictures from Menard TXGenWeb
Old Catholic Cemetery
This cemetery is also known as "The Decker Cemetery" and "Cleo Highway Cemetery".
- Old Catholic Cemetery - Cemetery information and headstone pictures from Menard TXGenWeb
- Old Catholic Cemetery- Burial listings on Find-A-Grave
Opp Cemetery
This cemetery is also known as the Bihl Cemetery.
- Opp Cemetery - Listings and pictures of Opp/Bihl Cemetery from Menard TXGenWeb site.
- Opp Cemetery - Listings from Find-A-Grave
Pioneer Rest Cemetery
This was the original cemetery for the town of Menardville.
- Pioneer Rest Cemetery - Cemetery Name Index and some pictures from Menard TXGenWeb site.
- Pioneer Rest Cemetery - Find-A-Grave listings can be searched by name or browse all burials.
Rest Haven Cemetery
Rest Haven Cemetery is the newer cemetery for the town of Menard. It was established in the early 1930's when it became apparent that Pioneer Rest Cemetery was filled to capacity.
Splittgerber Cemetery
This cemetery is also known as the "Ellis Cemetery".
Waddell Cemetery
Churches
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Church of Christ
First Baptist Church - 300 Tipton Street, Menard - (325) 396-4701
First United Methodist Church - 201 Gay Street, Menard - (325) 396-2452
Lutheran Church
Menard Cowboy Church - Church website. 2711 Ryan Road, Menard - (325) 396-2319
Sacred Heart Catholic Church (Historic)
Sacred Heart Catholic Church
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Menard County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Maps
Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Menard County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Menard County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Menard County, TX Death Index
Menard County, Texas Death Index sorted by surname from Menard TXGenWeb site (partial listing) - Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch Historical Records) Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Menard County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Menard News and Messenger of March 26, 1931
- ↑ Round IV Grant receipient - Texas Historical Commission Report
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 00:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,934 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
