Mendham, NorfolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mendham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hoxne PLU|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
MENDHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Hoxne, partly in the hundred of Earsham, E. division of Norfolk, but chiefly in the hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 1¼ mile (E. by S.) from Harleston. 
Mendham is an Ancient Parish partly in Norfolk and partly in Suffolk with Suffolk being the greater part of Mendam. It is located mostly in the hundred of Hoxne and partly in the hundred of Earsham, Norfolk County. Genuki.org.uk provides a more detailed description. On 25 Mar 1885, the Norfolk section of this parish joined Redenhall with Harleston making Mendham totally in Suffolk.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
No Census records for Mendham in Norfolk are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog, it falls under Suffolk.
- 1891 Census SurnameTranscription (note that this is now called Redenhall with Harleston provided by Genuki.co.uk.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
■findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
■The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk and Suffolk: Mendham on GenUKI
- This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
- This page has been accessed 756 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page