Mendham, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Contents

Parish History

MENDHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Hoxne, partly in the hundred of Earsham, E. division of Norfolk, but chiefly in the hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 1¼ mile (E. by S.) from Harleston. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

On 25 Mar 1885, the Norfolk section of this parish joined Redenhall with Harleston.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Mendham and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Mendham was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. About 30% of the population and 25% of the land was on the North side of the Waveney; therefore, they were in the district of Earsham, county of Norfolk. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne, Hartismere, or Earsham district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.

Church records

Mendham, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Mendham, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1678-1837

FREG 1678-1900
1678-1900
1678-1901
JOIN
1678-1837

NBI

1678-1900
TGEN
1678-1837

The Parish Registers begin in 1678. They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office. A copy of the registers from 1678 to 1900 can be purchased from the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. cid=0#0 Parish Chest records are lacking for Mendham. See Suffolk Church Records for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Mendham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Mendham, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Mendham was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 there was one National Index. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain
    • British History Online - MENDHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Hoxne, partly in the hundred of Earsham, E. division of Norfolk, but chiefly in the hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 1¼ mile (E. by S.) from Harleston. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [8]

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.287-291. Date accessed: 20 June 2014
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
  8. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,258 times.