Mercer County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Mercer County

Guide to Mercer County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Mercer County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Mercer County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 13, 1825
County Seat Aledo
Courthouse
Mercer County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Mercer County Courthouse
P.O. Box 66
Aledo, IL 61231
309-582-7021
Mercer County Website

Contents

Mercer County Organization

Mercer County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Mercer County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1835
1877
1830
1834
1837

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Mercer County are kept, see the Mercer County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Hugh Mercer, Jr.jpg
Mercer County is named for Hugh Mercer who was a General of the Revolution and a close friend to George Washington. He died as a result of wounds received in battle during the Battle of Princeton. [1]

Parent County

  • 1825--Mercer County was created 13 January 1825 from unorganized territory and Pike County. County seat: Aledo [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Mercer County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Mercer County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Published Records


Online Gravestone Transcriptions

  • Mercer County ILGenWeb. See the Cemeteries, Cemetery Index & Reference Material, and Cemetery Index Volume Guide folders for more information about Mercer County cemeteries and tombstone transcriptions.
  • Find A Grave.com has burial information for nearly 70 Mercer County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.


Cemetery Gazetters

  • Epodunk has a list of Mercer County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190020,945
191019,723−5.8%
192018,800−4.7%
193016,641−11.5%
194017,7016.4%
195017,374−1.8%
196017,149−1.3%
197017,2940.8%
198019,28611.5%
199017,290−10.3%
200016,957−1.9%
201016,434−3.1%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Mercer County on page 187.]

Church Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois state wiki article Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research.

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Mercer County edition. Church information can be found in the township histories beginning on page 658. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Local Histories

  • History of Mercer and Henderson Counties Together with Biographical Matter, Statistics, Etc. Chicago, Illinois: H.H. Hill and Company, 1882. FHL fiche 6071026; digital versions at Ancestry ($), and Internet Archive (free)
  • Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Mercer County. Chicago: Munsell Pub. Co., 1903. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Mercer County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.

Abstracts

Copies of original records

Online Resources

Maps

Ilmercer.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Mercer County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Mercer County.

- 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 26th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 30th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and G.
- 37th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 45th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I.
- 65th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Scotch Regiment), Company B.
- 83rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 84th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 102nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, C, E, G and K.
- 124th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 126th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 140th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F.

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

Newspapers and Obituaries

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Burlington, Iowa newspapers dating back to the mid 1800's that may have included Mercer County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Poorhouse

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Mercer County are kept, see the Mercer County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Mercer County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Mercer County.

Public Libraries

Aledo Mercer Carnegie Public Library District
200 N. College Av.
Aledo, IL 61231
Tel: 309-582-2032
Fax: 309-582-5155
Email: mercer.carnegie@mchsi.com

New Windsor Public Library District
412 Main Street
New Windsor, IL 61465
Tel: 309-667-2515
Facebook

Sherrard Library District
200 5th Avenue
Sherrard, IL 61281
Tel: 309-593-2178
Fax: 309-593-2179
Facebook

Social Groups Online

Societies

Essley-Noble Museum & Mercer County Historical Society
1406 SE 2nd Avenue
Aledo, IL 61231
Tel: 309-582-2280
Email: mcmuseum@frontier.com

The Essley-Noble Museum in Aledo Illinois is a friendly and well staffed genealogy resource for those researching Mercer County. They specialize in having an INDEXED cross-referenced obituary collection going back to the early publication dates for the local papers. They also have microfilms available for these papers. They just completed (2010) a project for all the cemeteries in the county which contains GPS locations, which is particularly useful when trying to locate the small and hidden cemeteries in the townships. Currently the museum is collecting civil war veteran photos, biographies, histories from Illinois, specifically in Mercer County.

Although the genealogy section is in a corner of the Museum it is well worth the visit. The majority of the building is devoted to collections of period attire, house wares and other antiques.

Visit their web site at http://mchsil.org/for current hours (the volunteers currently staff the facility three days a week) and other details. The mailing address is PO Box 269 Aledo, IL 81231.

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Mercer County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

Births

Marriages

Online Resources

Deaths

Online Resources

Web Sites

References

  1. Hugh Mercer www.wikipedia.org
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 196. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 9,714 times.