Mercer County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Mercer County

Guide to Mercer County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Mercer County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat Princeton
Courthouse
Address Mercer County Courthouse
802 E Main Street
Princeton, MO 64673
Phone: 660.748.34215
Mercer County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Clerk has birth records 1883-1894 and death records
1883-1891; Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court
 land records; Circuit Court, division 2, has probate records[1]


History

Parent County

1845--Mercer County was created 14 February 1845 from Grundy County. County seat: Princeton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Decatur County, Iowa  • Grundy  • Harrison  • Putnam  • Sullivan  • Wayne County, Iowa

Mercer CountyPutnam CountyAdair CountyMacon CountySullivan CountyGrundy CountyLinn CountyDaviess CountyDecatur CountyRinggold CountyWorth CountyGentry CountyWayne CountyAppanoose CountyHarrison CountyHarrison CountyDavis CountyMOMercer1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Lineville

  • 1870-1876 - Lineville Catholic Church Baptism Index 1870-1876. Batch C511701 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Princeton

  • 1871-1876 - Princeton Catholic Church Baptism Index 1871-1876. Batch C511521 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1870-1883 - Princeton Catholic Church Marriage Index 1870-1883. Batch M511521 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Sommersett

  • 1870 - Sommersett Catholic Church Baptism Index 1870. Batch C511711 at Familysearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mercer County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Momercer.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 44th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
:- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mercer County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1883-1894 - Mercer County Birth Index 1883-1894. Batches C515455 and C515456 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths


'Census

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Mercer County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Mercer County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Mercer County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Mercer County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Mercer County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Mercer County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mercer County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 July 2014, at 02:06.
  • This page has been accessed 5,410 times.