Mercer County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Mercer County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Mercer County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 14, 1875 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Stanton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Mercer County Courthouse 1021 Arthur Street Stanton, ND 58571 Phone: 701.745.3262 Mercer County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth, death and burial records from 1942,
marriage records from 1894, divorce and court records from 1906
and probate record from 1898; Register of Deeds has land records;
State Archives has naturalization records[1]
History
Parent County
1875--Mercer County was created 14 January 1875 from unorganized territory. County seat: Stanton [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Indian Reservation
A portion of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation is located in Mercer County. The remainder of the reservation is in Mountrail, McKenzie, Dunn, and Ward Counties.
Neighboring Counties
Dunn | McLean | Morton | Oliver | Stark
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in Mercer County, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available.
Census
- 1880
- 1885
- 1890
- 1900
- 1910
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
- 1930
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Mercer County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mercer County, North Dakota. Page 525 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 17:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,340 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

