Merston, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Merton, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Merston, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Box and Stockbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MERSTON, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 3 miles (S. E.) from the city of Chichester.[1]


Merston St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the village and civil parish of Merston in the Chichester district of West Sussex The church is closed and the Diocese of Chichester are seeking non-residential occupancy of the building (November 2011) see Merston St Giles

The Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Merston St Giles

The Church of St Giles has been designated as a grade I listed building + Grade I listed buildings in West Sussex and British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)Merston  and Merston St Giles

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Merston, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Merston, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1587-1641, 1663-1905
1587-1641, 1663-1901
1593-1641, 1663-1902

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Merston ==== Census records ====


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Merston/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-298. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2014, at 21:40.
  • This page has been accessed 896 times.