Mesa County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngMesa County

Guide to Mesa County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Mesa County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Mesa County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1883
County Seat Grand Junction
Courthouse
Address Mesa County Courthouse
2424 Hwy 6 & 50
PO Box 20,000-5010
Grand Junction, CO 81502
Phone: 970.244.1607
Mesa County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1883;
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records;
1885 census taken[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1883-1909 [2]*
1883 [2]*
1893-1901 [2]*

1883
1883

*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Early birth and death records are stored in the courthouse.[2]

County Seat

Grand Junction [3]

Parent County

Comesa.jpg
  • 1883--Mesa County was created 14 February 1883 from Gunnison County.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

Memorial Gardens of the Valley, Grand Junction BillionGraves

Mesa County Genealogical Society Cemetery Website Project - http://www.gjmesa.com/mcgs/MCSG%20CEMETERY%20PROJECT%20March%202006.htm

Elmwood Cemetery FindaGrave http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gsr&GScid=57255

Census

For tips on accessing Mesa County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Fruita
  • Grand Junction

Court Records

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Local History

Local histories are available for Mesa County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mesa County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Colorado State Archives has put the Mesa County Probate Index for the years 1883-1900, on-line.

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Mesa County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Mesa County CCC Enrollments 1934 - 1942
Mesa County Divorce Cases 1950 - 1970
Mesa County Inheritance Tax 1920 - 1934
Mesa County Motor Vehicle Licenses 1913 - 1917
Mesa County Persons Subject to Military 1885 - 1887
Mesa County Persons Exempt from Military 1887
Mesa County Probate 1883 - 1910

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries

Mesa County Public Library District
530 Grand Ave
Grand Junction, CO 81502
Telehone: 970-243-4783
Website www.mcpld.org/

Museums
Societies

Mesa County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 1506
Grand Junction, Colorado 81502-1506
Telephone 970-242-0971
Website http://www.mesadwellers.org

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has put the Mesa County Inheritance Tax Records Index for the years 1920-1934 on-line.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Divorce

Places

Populated Places

Populated Places in Mesa County
Cities
Towns
Unincorporated
Fruita
Colbran
Clifton *
Grand Junction
De Beque
Fruitvale

Palisade
Gateway


Loma


Mack


Mesa


Molina


Orchard Mesa *


Plateau City


Redlands


Whitewater

'*'also check for records in Grand Junction

Ghost Town

Carpenter

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mesa County, Colorado. Page 100 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 4,997 times.